About the downloads.

Don't ask me to upload old records since they can all be found on a P2P service that's totally free.
Read more about it here

torsdag 1 november 2012

Toughskins - Raised in anger LP (1995)

Band from Los Angeles not to be confuced with the Florida band with the same name.
The band was formed in 1993 by Adrian on vocals, Mike on drums, Jody on guitar and Danny on bass. In 1995 they released their first and only full-lenght record through Vulture Rock (this one) and appeared on Backstreets of American Oi! and Superyobs Vol.2 before splitting up in 1996.
During this split the band branched out into two new bands as Adrian and Mike formed Fully Loaded and Danny & Jody went on to for the band Rot-N-Roll.

In 2004 Adrian and Mike reformed the band with a new guitarist and bass-player, this version of the band didnt stay around for long but got around to releasing a split with Broken heroes before splitting up again (album can be found here).

In 2010 Danny decided it was time to punch some life intot he corpse that was Toughskins and with some new faces in their line-up they started doing shows again. This new line-up is Danny (now on vocals), Mike, Chris and Chavlon (think she used to play in Strongarm and the bullies, stop me if i'm wrong).

The "new" Toughskins have just released an EP called Anger Management through Randale Records and have more releases planned in the future so to keep updated by visiting their facebook (anyone who has followed the site know my thoughts on facebook so find the link yourselfs).
Thanks to JayB and Danny for the info.

01. We are the Toughskins
02. Get drunk
03. Get arrested
04. I know you
05. School of hardknocks
06. Skinhead
07. 25 miles
08. Take the pain
09. Lucky to be alive
10. Strike

Released by Vulture Rock in 1995 and later re-issued by Dim Records on cd in 1998 (my upload contains artwork for both releases but audio tracks are from the CD).

This band is far from a new experience for anyone even remotly familuar with American Oi! music. These boys are legends and well deserved of their status. They have a distinct 90's sound going and play somewhat the same kind that Fatskins played (only thing these guys sound good while doing it).

The song opening up the album is in my oppinion the weakest and fail in the same way that Fatskins often failed, song sounds like a joke rap-song lets just leave it at that. Though on Get drunk they make a u-turn and  deliver what i think is one of the most iconic songs of the 90's scene (maybe because i grew up on the Backstreets album). Tightly followed by Get arrested and later crushed by the wonderfull anthem called Skinhead its not hard to understand why this band is one of the few who actually got a name for themselfs overseas.

As most probably allready own the record i will stop pestering you all with my thoughs and get on with my day.

5 kommentarer:

  1. Hey Bernando, great post, great band, cheers for it!!! Damn it, I think I really need to get my hands on their new 7''. Totally missed out on it, that they released finally some really new stuff. Do you know if it is a record with really new songs, or are ''only'' new recorded old ones on it?!?

  2. PS: Fuck it, not locked in, haha ;-) .
    - Manslaughter Andy

  3. 4 brand new song called Anger Management, Toughest Kids, Let's All & The Beast. I think both Step-1 and Bandworm sells it.

  4. Thanks for some clarity of what release belongs to which Toughskins.

    - thedeadcomedian

  5. anger management has some great tunes